Social Studies Research Guide
Use this guide to get started on your social studies research.  Ask a librarian for help finding additional resources.
All Items by Source

Religion Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Social Science Restricted Resource
Includes:
  • The Basics of Sociology
  • Bioethics
  • Child Development
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

Religion Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery searches)

Oxford Handbooks Online Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on a variety of subjects.

Social Studies Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

Gale Virtual Reference Library: History Restricted Resource
Ebooks on history topics:
  • American Decades Primary Sources
  • American Eras Primary Sources
  • Classical Rhetorics and Rhetoricians
  • The Crusades Reference Library
  • Dictionary of American History
  • Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
  • Encyclopedia of Modern China
  • Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
  • Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania
  • Korean War Reference Library
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
  • Vietnam War Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Multicultural Studies Restricted Resource
Includes Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History and Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Nation and World Restricted Resource
Includes:
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
  • Encyclopedia of Modern China
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: Europe

Social Studies Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery)

GreenFile
Free, open-access research database covering environmental topics from scholarly, government, and general interest sources.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Ebooks on a variety of topics.
note: Included in Discovery searches.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue.  Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
note: Not included in Discovery searches.  Search or browse site directly.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, critical essays, and full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on core subjects ranging from the Great Depression to Malala Yousafzai. 
note: Included in Discovery searches.

Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America
Large collection of primary sources including photographs, maps, news footage, oral histories, and more.  Search or browse by topic. Copyright and permission info are included for each item in the collection.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Photos, drawings, sound recordings and other primary source materials from the Library of Congress.  Copyright and permission information are included for each item in the collection.
Minnesota Reflections
Primary source materials from and about Minnesota.  Browse by topic or location, or search for something specific.  Copyright and permission information is provided for each item.

Journals/Magazines

National Geographic Magazine Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1995 to present.  1913 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Review of General Psychology Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1999 to present.  1997 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Review of General Psychology
Smithsonian Restricted Resource
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests.  It chronicles the arts, history, sciences, and popular culture of the times.  Available digitally 1990 to present.  1970 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Social Education Restricted Resource
Articles and resources for social studies teachers.  Available digitally 2000-2009.  1973 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
Social Studies and the Young Learner
A quarterly for creative teaching in grades K-6.  1997 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
Yale Review
Journal with discussion of politics, economics, and history and publication of new works by distinguished contemporary writers.  Available digitally 1997 to present.  Most years 1912-2009 available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Yale Review

Newspapers

Chronicling America
Digitized historic American newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
Global Newsstream
Content from newspapers and news sites from around the world from 1980 to the present.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
Digitized pages of Minnesota newspapers from as far back as 1850.  

Ebooks

ACLS Humanities Ebooks Restricted Resource
Academic ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books
Links to digital academic, peer-reviewed books.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers.  Free for anyone in Minnesota to use.  No login necessary.  An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time. 
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (Traverse des Sioux public library collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.

Journals/Magazines available in full text through Discovery

Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
  • G:  Geography
  • GR:  Folklore
  • HM:  Sociology
Search the library catalog -- Examples:
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu