Science Research Guide
Use this guide to help find science resources in the MLC Library.
All Items by Source

Science Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

Access Science Restricted Resource
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and related information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Medicine Restricted Resource
Includes:
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests
  • Human Diseases and Conditions

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Science Restricted Resource
Includes:
  • Bioethics
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
  • Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia

Health Source Academic Edition Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles from medical journals.
Health Source Consumer Edition Restricted Resource
Consumer health magazines.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.

Science Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery)

Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource
Health and wellness articles covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men's & women's health.
Gale OneFile: Science
Journals on topics such as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
GreenFile
Free, open-access research database covering environmental topics from scholarly, government, and general interest sources.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Ebooks on a variety of topics.
note: Included in Discovery searches.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue.  Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
note: Not included in Discovery searches.  Search or browse site directly.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, critical essays, and full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on core subjects ranging from the Great Depression to Malala Yousafzai. 
note: Included in Discovery searches.

Journals/Magazines

Astronomy Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1992 to present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
ChemMatters
Most recent five issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Discover
Magazine that reports developments in science, medicine, technology, and the world around us.  Available digitally 2001 to present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Discover
Journal of Chemical Education
Articles of interest for those who teach chemistry, including research advances and teaching methodologies.  Available digitally 1924 to present.
note: Alternative access:  Journal of Chemical Education
National Geographic Magazine Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1995 to present.  1913 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Natural History Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1990 to present.  1962 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
Physics Teacher
Journal of the American Association of Physics Teachers; articles aimed at strengthening the teaching of introductory physics at all levels.  Available digitally 1963-present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: The Physics Teacher
Science
Contains peer-reviewed articles, original research reports, on timely science-related topics.  Available digitally 1880-1922, 1983-2005.  Most recent five years available in print at the MLC Library.
Science and Children Restricted Resource
Feature articles selected through peer review, commentary, software reviews, product reviews, on preschool through middle school science teaching.  Available digitally 2005 to present.  Additional years available in print at the MLC Library.
Science Scope Restricted Resource
Features articles, news notes, and recent happenings for middle and junior high school science teachers.  Available digitally 1999 to present.  2001 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Scientific American Restricted Resource
Authoritative articles on all sciences by scientists who do the research reported.  Edited for the interested layman.  Available digitally 2007 to present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
Scientist Restricted Resource
Reliable resource for life science research professionals.  Available digitally 1986 to present.  Most recent six years available in print at the MLC Library.
Sky and Telescope Restricted Resource
Articles on space science, astronomy, observatories, planetariums, telescopes, and celestial events.  Available digitally 1993 to present.  1969 to 2013 available in print at the MLC Library.
Smithsonian Restricted Resource
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests.  It chronicles the arts, history, sciences, and popular culture of the times.  Available digitally 1990 to present.  1970 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Wired
Most recent five issues available in print at the MLC Library.

Newspapers

Global Newsstream
Content from newspapers and news sites from around the world from 1980 to the present.

Ebooks

ACLS Humanities Ebooks Restricted Resource
Academic ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books
Links to digital academic, peer-reviewed books.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers.  Free for anyone in Minnesota to use.  No login necessary.  An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time. 
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (Traverse des Sioux public library collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.

Journals/Magazines available in full text through Discovery

Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
  • Q:  Science (General)
    • QA:  Mathematics
    • QB:  Astronomy
    • QC:  Physics
    • QD:  Chemistry
    • QE:  Geology
    • QH:  Biology
    • QK:  Botany
    • QL:  Zoology
    • QM:  Human anatomy
    • QP:  Physiology
    • QR:  Microbiology
  • R:  Medicine
  • S:  Agriculture
  • T:  Technology
Search the library catalog -- Examples: 
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu