As the WELS School of Ministry, our library at MLC includes many theological resources. This guide will help you find them, including our extensive book collection, research databases, and print journals.
There are two ways to find books in the library: Browse the shelves, or search the catalog.
If you have a topic in mind, start with the library catalog. Choose a few words about your topic and enter them in the catalog search.
Note the location and call number of the books you're interested in to help you find them on the library shelves. (Hint: When you get to the shelf, look to the left and right of the books on your list, because there might be more that are useful to you nearby.) If you need help finding anything, ask a friendly library worker.
If you have a topic in mind, start with the library catalog. Choose a few words about your topic and enter them in the catalog search.
Note the location and call number of the books you're interested in to help you find them on the library shelves. (Hint: When you get to the shelf, look to the left and right of the books on your list, because there might be more that are useful to you nearby.) If you need help finding anything, ask a friendly library worker.
Browse items in the library:
- Stacks (lower level)
- BR: Christianity
- BS: The Bible
- BT: Doctrinal Theology
- BV: Practical Theology
- BX: Christian Denominations
Search the library catalog -- Examples:
If we don't have the books you need in our library, you can borrow them from another library.
Search in this order:
Search in this order:
- TdS Catalog: Area public libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.
- MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
- ILL (Interlibrary Loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.
For ebooks and articles, your best starting point is our Discovery search. It's a one-stop shop for searching our library's digital resources. Put a few keywords into the search box, and then narrow the results with the limiters. To read an article or ebook, click on a link that says "full text." (If you have trouble with a full-text link, let us know!)
We have a few databases that aren't included in Discovery, so you have to search them separately. They are listed below.
We have a few databases that aren't included in Discovery, so you have to search them separately. They are listed below.
Religion Resources (Included in Discovery searches)
ATLA Religion Database
Articles about religion topics. Includes some WELS and other Lutheran publications. Can be searched by Bible reference (e.g. John 3:16).
Articles about religion topics. Includes some WELS and other Lutheran publications. Can be searched by Bible reference (e.g. John 3:16).
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Religion 
Includes:
Includes:
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Encyclopedia of Religion
- Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
- New Catholic Encyclopedia
Religion Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery searches)
BAS Library
Online digital archive of Biblical Archaeology Review and historical copies of Bible Review and Archaeology Odyssey.
Online digital archive of Biblical Archaeology Review and historical copies of Bible Review and Archaeology Odyssey.
Bibliotheca Sacra
Articles on theology, Bible exposition, ministry, and current issues in religion.
note: Must request password from the serials librarian for online access.
Articles on theology, Bible exposition, ministry, and current issues in religion.
note: Must request password from the serials librarian for online access.
Open Access Digital Theological Library
High-quality curated content in fields related to religious studies. All information is open access (no fee to use) and has a stable URL.
High-quality curated content in fields related to religious studies. All information is open access (no fee to use) and has a stable URL.
Points of View Reference Center
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue. Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue. Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
Bible and Spade
A journal of archaeology and biblical research. 2000 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
A journal of archaeology and biblical research. 2000 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Biblical Archaeology Review
Available digitally 1975 to present. 1975 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Available digitally 1975 to present. 1975 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Christianity Today
Contains news, articles, editorials, and reviews on Christian life for ministers and other religious professionals. Available digitally 1990 to present.1956 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Contains news, articles, editorials, and reviews on Christian life for ministers and other religious professionals. Available digitally 1990 to present.1956 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Concordia Theological Quartlerly
A theological journal of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod. 1977 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
A theological journal of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod. 1977 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Currents in Theology and Mission
The theological journal of the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago and Wartburg Theological Seminary. 2002 to present available digitally. Some years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: Currents in Theology and Mission
The theological journal of the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago and Wartburg Theological Seminary. 2002 to present available digitally. Some years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: Currents in Theology and Mission
Faith-Life
The periodical of the Protes'tant Conference. 1928 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
The periodical of the Protes'tant Conference. 1928 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Faithful Word
A journal of doctrine and defense from the Lutheran Churches of the Reformation. 1972 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
A journal of doctrine and defense from the Lutheran Churches of the Reformation. 1972 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
First Things: A Monthly Journal of Religion and Public Life
Contains debates, commentary, and head-on examinations of the most critical religious and moral questions confronting Americans today. Available digitally 1997 to present. 1990 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Contains debates, commentary, and head-on examinations of the most critical religious and moral questions confronting Americans today. Available digitally 1997 to present. 1990 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Forward in Christ
Official magazine of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod. 2000-present available in print at the MLC Library.
Official magazine of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod. 2000-present available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of Theological Studies
Journal on a range of topics in theological research. Available digitally 1993 to present. 1989 to present available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: Journal of Theological Studies
Journal on a range of topics in theological research. Available digitally 1993 to present. 1989 to present available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: Journal of Theological Studies
Journal of Theology
Journal of the Church of the Lutheran Confession. 1961 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of the Church of the Lutheran Confession. 1961 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Lutheran Spokesman
Publication of The Church of the Lutheran Confession. 1958 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Publication of The Church of the Lutheran Confession. 1958 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Lutheran Theological Review
Open-access journal published jointly by the two seminaries of the Lutheran Church-Canada.
Open-access journal published jointly by the two seminaries of the Lutheran Church-Canada.
Lutheran Witness
Publication of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod. Most years 1885 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Publication of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod. Most years 1885 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers. Free for anyone in Minnesota to use. No login necessary. An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time.
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers. Free for anyone in Minnesota to use. No login necessary. An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time.
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials. Uses the same login information as your library account. If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials. Uses the same login information as your library account. If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (Traverse des Sioux public library collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks. Uses the same login information as your library account. If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks. Uses the same login information as your library account. If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Oxford Reference
Ebooks and articles on a variety of reference subjects.
note: MLC does not have access to the entire Oxford Reference collection. Click "Show books in my subscription" on the left side menu to see the items we hold.
Ebooks and articles on a variety of reference subjects.
note: MLC does not have access to the entire Oxford Reference collection. Click "Show books in my subscription" on the left side menu to see the items we hold.
Contact Us
Quick Links
- MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
- Discovery: One-stop source for journal articles and other digital content.
- MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library. Also includes items from area public libraries (TdS); place holds for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.
- MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
- ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.
- Music Library: Find piano and organ music based on hymn tunes.
- MLC KnightHelp: Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
Library Staff
Sue GurgelReference, Research Help, Interlibrary Loan, Children's Literature
gurgelsl@mlc-wels.edu
Susan PlocherDatabases, Journals, Reserves, Website
plochesm@mlc-wels.edu
Liz WesselCurriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu
Mary Hames Catalog Records, Call Numbers
hamesmb@mlc-wels.edu
Linda KramerLibrary Director, Materials Selection, Research Help, Reference
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu