Physical Education Research Guide
Use this guide to help find information for use with physical education classes, including links to online journals in the field.
All Items by Source

Physical Education Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource
Health and wellness articles covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men's & women's health.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue.  Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
note: Not included in Discovery searches.  Search or browse site directly.

Journals/Magazines

Coach and Athletic Director Restricted Resource
Features articles, interviews, profiles, legislation, & news of note for coaches and athletic directors at the high school, college, and university levels.  Available digitally 1995 to 2011.  2009 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance
Peer-reviewed professional journal for educators in physical eduction, sport, recreation, and dance.  Includes articles on teaching methods, curriculum, coaching, fitness, and more.  Available digitally 1982 to present.  Some years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  JOPERD
Strategies: A Journal for Physical & Sport Educators
Available digitally 1987 to present.
note: Alternative access:  Strategies
Strategies: A Journal for Physical and Sport Educators
Peer-reviewed professional journal for physical education teachers and coaches.  Available digitally 1997 to present.

Ebooks

Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (Traverse des Sioux public library collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.

Journals/Magazines available in full text through Discovery

Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
  • GV:  Recreation and Lesiure, including teaching physical education
Search the library catalog -- Examples:
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu