Are you a pianist or organist? Do you play for church? We have a good supply of piano and organ music appropriate for worship services, and an online index to help you find it. You can input the name of the hymn tune, title of hymn, or hymn number (from several different hymnals) and get a list of all the music we have that matches that hymn. It's a great resource for church musicians.
Use our music databases to find information about composers, or match hymns with piano or organ music using our hymn prelude index.
Browse items in the library:
- Stacks (downstairs)
- M: Music (General)
- ML: Literature on Music
- MT: Instruction and Study
- M: Music (General)
- Music Library (main floor near library service desk)
- Organ and Piano Music
- Music Study Scores
- Audio CDs
- LP Records
- Hymn Prelude Index (Printed Copy)
Search the library catalog: Examples
If we don't have the books you need in our library, you can borrow them from another library.
Search in this order:
Search in this order:
- TdS Catalog: Area public libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.
- MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
- ILL (Interlibrary Loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.
For ebooks and articles, your best starting point is our Discovery search. It's a one-stop shop for searching our library's digital resources. Put a few keywords into the search box, and then narrow the results with the limiters. To read an article or ebook, click on a link that says "full text." (If you have trouble with a full-text link, let us know!)
We have a few databases that aren't included in Discovery, so you have to search them separately. They are listed below.
We have a few databases that aren't included in Discovery, so you have to search them separately. They are listed below.
Music Resources (Included in Discovery searches)
Music Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery)
Hymn Prelude Index
This collection is an index to the organ and instrumental music holdings of the MLC Library. Users can search by hymn tune, composer, or Christian Worship or Christian Worship Supplement hymn number. We continue to include new hymn tunes and titles as they are added to the MLC Library music collection.
This collection is an index to the organ and instrumental music holdings of the MLC Library. Users can search by hymn tune, composer, or Christian Worship or Christian Worship Supplement hymn number. We continue to include new hymn tunes and titles as they are added to the MLC Library music collection.
Bach-Jahrbuch
Annual publication of Bach research. 1904 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Annual publication of Bach research. 1904 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Cross Accent
Journal of the Association of Lutheran Church Musicians. 1999 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of the Association of Lutheran Church Musicians. 1999 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers. Free for anyone in Minnesota to use. No login necessary. An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time.
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers. Free for anyone in Minnesota to use. No login necessary. An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time.
Hathitrust Digital Library
Digitized copies of millions of books.
note: MLC is not a member of HathiTrust, so our users are considered Guests. Some features will be limited.
Digitized copies of millions of books.
note: MLC is not a member of HathiTrust, so our users are considered Guests. Some features will be limited.
Oxford Reference 
Ebooks and articles on a variety of reference subjects.
note: MLC does not have access to the entire Oxford Reference collection. Click "Show books in my subscription" on the left side menu to see the items we hold.
Ebooks and articles on a variety of reference subjects.
note: MLC does not have access to the entire Oxford Reference collection. Click "Show books in my subscription" on the left side menu to see the items we hold.
Quick Links
- MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
- Discovery: One-stop source for journal articles and other digital content.
- MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library. Also includes items from area public libraries (TdS); place holds for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.
- MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
- ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.
- Music Library: Find piano and organ music based on hymn tunes.
- MLC KnightHelp: Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
Library Staff
Sue GurgelReference, Research Help, Interlibrary Loan, Children's Literature
gurgelsl@mlc-wels.edu
Susan PlocherDatabases, Journals, Reserves, Website
plochesm@mlc-wels.edu
Liz WesselCurriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu
Mary Hames Catalog Records, Call Numbers
hamesmb@mlc-wels.edu
Linda KramerLibrary Director, Materials Selection, Research Help, Reference
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu