History Research Guide
The MLC Library has a variety of resources for your history research needs.  Use our collection of history books, our databases of history articles, or links to primary source websites for your research needs.
All Items by Source

History Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

Gale Virtual Reference Library: History Restricted Resource
Ebooks on history topics:
  • American Decades Primary Sources
  • American Eras Primary Sources
  • Classical Rhetorics and Rhetoricians
  • The Crusades Reference Library
  • Dictionary of American History
  • Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
  • Encyclopedia of Modern China
  • Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
  • Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania
  • Korean War Reference Library
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
  • Vietnam War Reference Library

History Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery searches)

World History Collection Restricted Resource
Leading journals in the field of world history.  

General Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue.  Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
note: Not included in Discovery searches.  Search or browse site directly.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Ebooks on a variety of topics.
note: Included in Discovery searches.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, critical essays, and full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on core subjects ranging from the Great Depression to Malala Yousafzai. 
note: Included in Discovery searches.

Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America
Large collection of primary sources including photographs, maps, news footage, oral histories, and more.  Search or browse by topic. Copyright and permission info are included for each item in the collection.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Photos, drawings, sound recordings and other primary source materials from the Library of Congress.  Copyright and permission information are included for each item in the collection.
Minnesota Reflections
Primary source materials from and about Minnesota.  Browse by topic or location, or search for something specific.  Copyright and permission information is provided for each item.

Journals/Magazines

American History Restricted Resource
Feature articles and special issues presenting the best available historic and contemporary illustrations and authoritative narratives on all aspects of American history.  1994 to present available digitally.  Most recent six issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Atlantic Monthly Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1983 to present.  Most issues from 1859 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Bible and Spade
A journal of archaeology and biblical research.  2000 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Biblical Archaeology Review Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1975 to present.  1975 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
China Today
1990 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Classical World Restricted Resource
Scholarship on Greek and Roman literature, history, and society as well as the classical tradition and the history of classical scholarship.  Available digitally 2005 to present.  1950-2011 available in print at the MLC Library.
Current History
Most years 1980 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Harper's Restricted Resource
Articles on politics, science, education, the arts, entertainment, and business for a well-educated, politically active audience.  Available digitally 1992 to 2007.  Select years from 1850 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
History Today Restricted Resource
Magazine that aims to bring serious history to a wide audience.  Available digitally 1975 to present.  Most recent 12 issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of Modern History Restricted Resource
American journal for the study of European history since the Renaissance.  1929-present available in print at the MLC Library.
Luther
All issues available in print at the MLC Library.
MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History Restricted Resource
Available digitally 2007 to present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
Minnesota History
1977 to present available in print at the MLC Library.  
National Geographic Magazine Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1995 to present.  1913 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Oxford Reference Restricted Resource
Ebooks and articles on a variety of reference subjects.
note: MLC does not have access to the entire Oxford Reference collection.  Click "Show books in my subscription" on the left side menu to see the items we hold.
Choose
Smithsonian Restricted Resource
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests.  It chronicles the arts, history, sciences, and popular culture of the times.  Available digitally 1990 to present.  1970 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Yale Review
Journal with discussion of politics, economics, and history and publication of new works by distinguished contemporary writers.  Available digitally 1997 to present.  Most years 1912-2009 available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Yale Review

Newspapers

Chronicling America
Digitized historic American newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
Global Newsstream
Content from newspapers and news sites from around the world from 1980 to the present.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
Digitized pages of Minnesota newspapers from as far back as 1850.  

Ebooks

ACLS Humanities Ebooks Restricted Resource
Academic ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books
Links to digital academic, peer-reviewed books.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers.  Free for anyone in Minnesota to use.  No login necessary.  An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time. 
Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (Traverse des Sioux public library collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.

Journals/Magazines available in full text through Discovery

Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
  • D:  History (General)
    • DA-DR:  Europe History
    • DS:  Asia History
    • DT:  Africa History
  • E:  American History
  • F:  United States Local History, Canada, Latin America, South America
Search the library catalog -- Examples:



 
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu