English Research Guide
This guide will help you find information relating to research, writing, and literature.  Please stop by the library to ask a friendly librarian to help you find additional information.  
All Items by Source

English Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Literature Restricted Resource
Ebooks: Shakespeare for Students and Twenty-First Century Novels

English Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery searches)

Folger Digital Texts
Digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library collection.
Magill's Literary Annual Restricted Resource
Reviews of recently-published literature.  Library's digital collection includes 1977-2013.
Masterplots Restricted Resource
Analyzes the most important works in literature, including English-language and English-translated world literature.  Provides reference information, plot synopses, and critical evaluations of literature.  4th edition, 2011.  
note: Print copy available at REF PN 44 .M33 2011.
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource
The Oxford English Dictionary is perhaps the most comprehensive English dictionary available. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.  

Religion Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery searches)

Oxford Handbooks Online Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on a variety of subjects.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Ebooks on a variety of topics.
note: Included in Discovery searches.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue.  Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
note: Not included in Discovery searches.  Search or browse site directly.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, critical essays, and full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on core subjects ranging from the Great Depression to Malala Yousafzai. 
note: Included in Discovery searches.

Journals/Magazines

Atlantic Monthly Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1983 to present.  Most issues from 1859 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Classical World Restricted Resource
Scholarship on Greek and Roman literature, history, and society as well as the classical tradition and the history of classical scholarship.  Available digitally 2005 to present.  1950-2011 available in print at the MLC Library.
College Composition and Communication
Journal for those who teach writing at the college level.  Available digitally 1950 to present.  Most recent five years available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  College Composition and Communication
College English
Professional journal for the college scholar-teacher.  Available digitally 1939 to present.  Most years 1944 to present available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  College English
English Education
Professional journal of the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1969 to present.  1973 to present available in print at the MLC Library
note: Alternative access:  English Education
English Journal
Professional journal of the secondary section of the National Council of Teachers of English, featuring articles for junior & high school teachers of English and Language Arts.  Available digitally 1912 to present.  Also available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  English Journal
English Leadership Quarterly
Professional journal of the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1995 to present.
note: Alternative access:  English Leadership Quarterly
Harper's Restricted Resource
Articles on politics, science, education, the arts, entertainment, and business for a well-educated, politically active audience.  Available digitally 1992 to 2007.  Select years from 1850 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of Teaching Writing Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1982 to present.  Most recent two issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Language Arts
Professional journal for elementary and middle school teachers and teacher educators.  Available digitally 1980 to present.  1975 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Language Arts
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Articles, reviews, book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of nineteenth-century literature.  2010-2019 available in print at the MLC library.
Oxford Reference Restricted Resource
Ebooks and articles on a variety of reference subjects.
note: MLC does not have access to the entire Oxford Reference collection.  Click "Show books in my subscription" on the left side menu to see the items we hold.
Choose
PMLA
Journal of the Modern Language Association of America that includes essays on language and literature.  Available digitally 2002 to present.  Some years available in print at the MLC Library.
Profession
Journal that focuses on the fields of modern languages and literatures as a profession.  Available digitally 2013 to present. Some years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Profession
Reading Improvement Restricted Resource
Journal dealing with every aspect of reading improvement at all levels of instruction.  Available digitally 2000 to present.  1973 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Research in the Teaching of English Restricted Resource
Original research and scholarly essays on the relationships between language teaching and learning at all levels, preschool through adult.  Published by the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1967-present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Research in the Teaching of English
Shakespeare Quarterly Restricted Resource
Essays and book reviews devoted to William Shakespeare.  Published by the Folger Shakespeare Library.  Available digitally 1950 to present.  Most recent five years available in print at the MLC Library.
Talking Points
Journal that promotes literacy research and the use of whole language instruction in classrooms.  Available digitally 1998 to present.  Current issue available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Talking Points
Teaching English in the Two-Year College
Articles, thematic issues, and reviews on all aspects of teaching English in the two year college.  Published by the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1996 to present.  Most recent five years available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Teaching English in the Two Year College
Times Literary Supplement
Most recent six years available in print at the MLC Library.
Voices from the Middle
Peer-reviewed journal for middle-school English teachers.  Available digitally 1995 to present.  1994 to present available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Voices from the Middle

Ebooks

ACLS Humanities Ebooks Restricted Resource
Academic ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books
Links to digital academic, peer-reviewed books.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers.  Free for anyone in Minnesota to use.  No login necessary.  An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time. 
Hathitrust Digital Library
Digitized copies of millions of books.
note: MLC is not a member of HathiTrust, so our users are considered Guests.  Some features will be limited.  
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (Traverse des Sioux public library collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.

Journals/Magazines available in full text through Discovery

Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
PN:  Literature (General)
PR:  English Literature
PS:  American Literature
PZ:  Children's Literature
Search the library catalog -- Examples:
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu