Education Research Guide
Because so many of our students are studying to be teachers, it is understandable that we have a wide variety of books and other resources that support the field of education.  This guide provides pathways to finding books on a variety of education topics.  Please contact a librarian or stop in the library for help in finding additional resources.
All Items by Source

Education Resources (Included in Discovery searches)

ERIC Restricted Resource
Extensive and authoritative database of education information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Education Restricted Resource
Ebooks on the subject of education:  Encyclopedia of Education and Career Information Center.
note: Library also has print set of Encyclopedia of Education at REF LB 15 .E47 2003.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Restricted Resource
Comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments,containing information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource
Professional Development Collection™ by EBSCO provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.

Education Resources (Search separately -- not included in Discovery)

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database Restricted Resource
Book reviews, awards and honors, author and illustrator links, and other information about children's literature.  Searchable according to a number of criteria.
note: Not included in Discovery searches. Search or browse site directly.
Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource
Content focused on educational principles, child development, psychology, and best practices in education. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. 
Professional Collection Restricted Resource
Journals for educators.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Ebooks on a variety of topics.
note: Included in Discovery searches.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Contains resources that provide multiple viewpoints on an issue.  Includes information from newspapers, news transcripts, reference books, and primary sources on a large number of varied topics.
note: Not included in Discovery searches.  Search or browse site directly.

Journals/Magazines

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1990 to present.  1970 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
ChemMatters
Most recent five issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Childhood Education
Articles for the education professional on all aspects of childhood education, infancy through Professional journal in the field of childhood education.  Available digitally 1924 to present.  Some years available in print at MLC Library.
Childhood Education
Articles for the education professional on all aspects of childhood education, infancy through Professional journal in the field of childhood education.  Available digitally 1924 to present.  Some years available in print at MLC Library.
Children's Literature in Education Restricted Resource
Articles on children's authors, critiques of children's literature, and classroom reading projects.  Available digitally 1993 to present.  Library holds print copies 1970-present.
Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1999 to present.  Most current five years available in print at the MLC Library.
Coach and Athletic Director Restricted Resource
Features articles, interviews, profiles, legislation, & news of note for coaches and athletic directors at the high school, college, and university levels.  Available digitally 1995 to 2011.  2009 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Cobblestone Restricted Resource
American History magazine for young people ages 8-13.  Each issue has a theme that is reinforced throughout the magazine.  Available digitally 1993 to present.  1991 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Cricket Restricted Resource
Highly respected award-winning literary magazine for children ages 6-14 who love to read.  Available digitally 1990 to present.  1973 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Educational Leadership Restricted Resource
Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle, and secondary education, and those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision, and leadership in schools.  Available digitally 1974 to present.  1967 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Educational Leadership
Educational Review Restricted Resource
General articles, reviews, and accounts of research of interest to teachers, lecturers, researchers in education and educational psychology, and students of eduction..  Available digitally 1990 to present.  Available in print at the MLC Library.
Educational Studies
Journal of approaches to the study of education.  Available digitally 1975 to present.  1973 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Educational Studies
Elementary School Journal Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1914 to present.  1951 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
English Education
Professional journal of the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1969 to present.  1973 to present available in print at the MLC Library
note: Alternative access:  English Education
English Journal
Professional journal of the secondary section of the National Council of Teachers of English, featuring articles for junior & high school teachers of English and Language Arts.  Available digitally 1912 to present.  Also available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  English Journal
English Leadership Quarterly
Professional journal of the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1995 to present.
note: Alternative access:  English Leadership Quarterly
Exceptional Children Restricted Resource
Professional journal of The Council for Exceptional Children.  Available digitally 1988 to present.  1974 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
History of Education Quarterly Restricted Resource
Original articles, essay reviews, and book reviews on the history of education, and historical perspective in the making of educational policity.  Available digitally 1961 to present.  1961 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  History of Education Quarterly
Horn Book Magazine Restricted Resource
Includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective, and news of the children's book world.  Available digitally 1991 to present.  1947 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Journal of Chemical Education
Articles of interest for those who teach chemistry, including research advances and teaching methodologies.  Available digitally 1924 to present.
note: Alternative access:  Journal of Chemical Education
Journal of Learning Disabilities
Original contributions of practice, research and theory related to learning disabilities, including reports of research, opinion papers, case reports and discussion of issues that are the concern of all disciplines engaged in the field.  Available digitally 1999 to present.  1973 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Journal of Learning Disabilities
Journal of Research in Childhood Education Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1997 to present.  1990 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Journal of Research in Childhood Education
Journal of Teaching Writing Restricted Resource
Available digitally 1982 to present.  Most recent two issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Language Arts
Professional journal for elementary and middle school teachers and teacher educators.  Available digitally 1980 to present.  1975 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Language Arts
Lion and the Unicorn
A critical journal of children's literature.  1977 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Lutheran Education Restricted Resource
Publishes research and reflections on a wide range of topics relevant to Lutheran Christian Education.  Available digitally 2010 to present.  1947 to 2009 available in print at the MLC Library.
Music Educators Journal Restricted Resource
Scholarly and practical articles on music education.  Available digitally 1990-present.  Older issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Parents
Most recent six years available in print at the MLC Library.
Phi Delta Kappan Restricted Resource
Professional journal for education.  Available digitally 1992 to present.  1959 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Physics Teacher
Journal of the American Association of Physics Teachers; articles aimed at strengthening the teaching of introductory physics at all levels.  Available digitally 1963-present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: The Physics Teacher
Principal
Journal of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.  Offers the latest news on education's hot issues, plus practical ways to improve your schoolAvailable digitally 2002 to present.  1980 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Principal
Reading Improvement Restricted Resource
Journal dealing with every aspect of reading improvement at all levels of instruction.  Available digitally 2000 to present.  1973 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Reading Teacher Restricted Resource
Peer-reviewed journal for those involved with literacy education up to age 12.  Takes active stance on issues of education today.  Available digitally 1990 to present.  1963 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Research in the Teaching of English Restricted Resource
Original research and scholarly essays on the relationships between language teaching and learning at all levels, preschool through adult.  Published by the National Council of Teachers of English.  Available digitally 1967-present.  Most recent ten years available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Research in the Teaching of English
Review of Educational Research
Journal of research on education.  Available digitally 1931 to present.  1961 to 2019 available in print at MLC Library.
note: Alternative access:  Review of Educational Research
School Arts
Art education magazine.  Available digitally 1989 to present.  1955 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: School Arts
School Science and Mathematics Restricted Resource
Articles, commentary, and reviews on all aspects of school science and mathematics.  Available digitally 1999 to 2011.  1948 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Science and Children Restricted Resource
Feature articles selected through peer review, commentary, software reviews, product reviews, on preschool through middle school science teaching.  Available digitally 2005 to present.  Additional years available in print at the MLC Library.
Science Scope Restricted Resource
Features articles, news notes, and recent happenings for middle and junior high school science teachers.  Available digitally 1999 to present.  2001 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Social Education Restricted Resource
Articles and resources for social studies teachers.  Available digitally 2000-2009.  1973 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
Social Studies and the Young Learner
A quarterly for creative teaching in grades K-6.  1997 to 2019 available in print at the MLC Library.
Strategies: A Journal for Physical and Sport Educators
Peer-reviewed professional journal for physical education teachers and coaches.  Available digitally 1997 to present.
Teaching Exceptional Children
Special education journal.
Teaching Pre-K-8 Restricted Resource
A magazine for teachers that includes feature articles, notes on curriculum, education news, teaching with technology, teaching science, math and art, children's books, and assessment.  Available digitally 1991-2007.  1987 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
Teaching Professor Restricted Resource
Higher education newsletter that focuses on specific aspects of teaching or administration.  Available digitally 2004-2006.  Most recent 10 issues available in print at the MLC Library.
Tech & Learning Restricted Resource
Available digitally 2009 to present.  Most recent six years available in print at the MLC Library.

Ebooks

Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers.  Free for anyone in Minnesota to use.  No login necessary.  An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time. 
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
  • L:  Education (General)
    • LA: History of Education
    • LB: Theory and Practice of Education
  • Some teaching books for particular subjects (e.g. science, math, history) may also be found with other books in that subject area.
  • Children's Literature Collection:  Main floor of library
  • Curriculum Library:  K-12 Textbooks, Manipulatives and Teaching Helps
  • Makerspace:  Diecuts and supplies for making posters, bulletin boards, etc.
Search the library catalog -- Examples:
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.
Search Within Library Guides
Find Other Library Guides

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu