Art Research Guide
The MLC Library has a variety of resources to help you with your art resource needs.  Several of these are shown below.  Please ask library staff if you need more information or can't find what you're looking for.
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

School Arts
Art education magazine.  Available digitally 1989 to present.  1955 to present available in print at the MLC Library.
note: Alternative access: School Arts

Ebooks

ACLS Humanities Ebooks Restricted Resource
Academic ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books
Links to digital academic, peer-reviewed books.
Ebooks Minnesota
Collection of ebooks, most on Minnesota topics or by Minnesota publishers.  Free for anyone in Minnesota to use.  No login necessary.  An unlimited number of people can use a book at the same time. 
Overdrive (MLC Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks, including children's titles and MTLE prep materials.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.
Overdrive (TdS Collection)
Collection of popular ebooks and audiobooks.  Uses the same login information as your library account.  If you haven't yet set a password for your library account, do this before checking out items in Overdrive.

Journals/Magazines available in full text through Discovery

Finding items in the library
Browse items in the library:
  • N:  Visual arts
    • NB:  Sculpture
    • NC:  Drawing, Design, Illustration
    • ND:  Painting
    • NE:  Print media
    • NK:  Decorative Arts
    • NX:  Arts in General
  • Also check the N section of our Oversize collection.
Search the library catalog -- Examples:
Quick Links
  • MLC Library Website: Information about the library and its resources.
  • MLC Help Site:  Help with passwords, Moodle, and more.
  • DiscoveryOne-stop source for digital library resources. 
  • MLC Catalog: Books in the MLC Library.
  • TdS CatalogArea public libraries--request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 3-5 days.  
  • MNLINK: Minnesota libraries--Request items for pickup at MLC, usually in 5-10 days.
  • ILL (interlibrary loan): Items that you can't find in MLC, TdS, or MNLINK, usually arrive in 1-3 weeks.

By Subject

By Topic

By Course

Library Staff
Library Phone Number:  507-233-9131

Jan NassJan Nass
Databases, Magazines and Journals, Reserves, Website
nassja@mlc-wels.edu

 

Liz WesselLiz Wessel
Curriculum Library, Makerspace, Checkouts, Fines and Bills, Lost Items
wesselea@mlc-wels.edu

 

Grace BasesGrace Bases
Catalog Records, Call Numbers, Interlibrary Loan
basesgm@mlc-wels.edu


 

Linda KramerLinda Kramer
Library Director, Selecting Materials, Research Help, Reference, Children's Literature
kramerlm@mlc-wels.edu